The Life Changing Wisdom of Sociology


Can Sociology be life changing? That’s what Sam Richards argues in this thought provoking TED talk which explores how the discipline can lead us to reimagine our circumstances and see those connections which we otherwise miss – it reveals hidden commonalities and the vast network of relations within which we are all embedded.

How can an academic discipline like Sociology be life changing? This talk suggests one way by exploring how sociologists teach us to re-imagine our personal problems and ourselves. In the end, we learn that even in our most private and seemingly isolated moments, we may be more connected to others than we realize.

2 thoughts on “The Life Changing Wisdom of Sociology

  1. Yes, sociology has been life-changing for me. Especially Bourdieu’s practice theory. I cannot return to an understanding of human behavioral dynamics after reading and understanding it. I’m changed forever, and my view of underlying economic exchanges between everyone and everything is altered, in a positive way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pierre Bourdieu is actually one of my favourite sociology authors (let’s face it, my favourite social intellectual, analyst and author), I never miss a chance to do an essay (empirical or theoric) or a case study using his writings on education, institutional power, domination, inequality and the construction/reprodution of social reality…I am reading works of Foucault and Michael W. Apple, they have similar insights.

      I wouldn’t change my college sociology education (almost grad) for nothing, I can’t put it better than what you said, it’s exactly my point of view: “I cannot return to an understanding of human behavioral dynamics after reading and understanding it. I’m changed forever, and my view of underlying economic exchanges between everyone and everything is altered, in a positive way.”

      Merry Christmas and a happy new year of 2015.
      Best regards,
      Pedro Calado

      Like

Leave a Reply

